But the Neighbors are doing it!!

I’ve been kind of down on myself because I haven’t been posting as often as I want to. HOWEVER….it NEVER fails that God’s timing is not mine! When I sit down to read a book, there’s definitely a divine time line. He proved that to me again today.

So….I had to go get something out of a friend’s mailbox today. She lives in a very nice neighborhood, and on our way to her house the kids are “Ooooo’ing and Ahhhhh’ing” at all the “MANSIONS” that we’re passing. I hear a conversation like this:

Abby: Mama, look at that mansion! I wish we lived there!

Parker: Yeah…they have a drive through garage. That’s no fair.

Abby: Look how big their yard is. They could build an entire trampoline park in their yard.

Parker: Our yard barely fits a trampoline, and they could fit a hundred.

And so on….

It kinda made my heart a little sad. Why don’t my kids appreciate the house we live in? Don’t they know that we’re doing the best we can to provide a luxury life for them? But yeah, that house is REALLY nice. I DO wish we lived there. That would be nice. I bet they don’t have a worry in the world.

Fast forward to right now…..me sitting in the bed…..reading The Supermom Myth book….about comparison, envy, and discontentment.

{excerpt: We moms know how comparison creeps in even before birth. From pregnancy, we compare ourselves to other moms and our child to other children. We compare ourselves to other women–our body shapes, our accomplishments, our husbands, our homes. We compare haircuts, shoe styles, front lawns, and Christmas cookie cutouts.

You are responsible for you. I am responsible for me. God calls us each to follow Him, which involves loving and encouraging one another, yes, but we must resist COMPARING ourselves to each other. When we compare, we’re likely to draw one of two thorny conclusions: I am better, or I am worse. Neither is true according to God’s design.

“Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others. Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life.” (Galatians 6:4-5 MSG)

Comparison leads to envy, which leads to discontentment.

COMPARISON- Vacation plans, extreme couponing, diets, reading lists, scrapbooks, chore charts, and hand-sewn purses. Our spirits inflame with an impossible itch to be as clever, resourceful, energetic, and artsy as those OTHER women. Reality check–they can’t do everything. And neither can we. We all have our own “things”–yours aren’t better than mine, and mine aren’t better than yours. They’re just different.

ENVY- You know what happens when we covet, don’t you? We start thinking our stuff isn’t good enough. As if God doesn’t know what we need. Or worse, He’s holding out on us. If we really knew what went on in that bigger house or that supposedly perfect family, we might be relieved that it belongs to them and not us. In other words, we’d choose our own stuff. What if our fence lines are established by God for our own enjoyment and protection? Doesn’t that change how you look at your neighbor’s lawn?

My yard=boundaries and blessings designed just for me.

Their yard=outside of God’s plan for my life.

{insert my heart: Wow. Wow. Wow. That is so powerful. God has my family in this certain place for a reason. His blessings are overflowing, and I don’t need anything else!}

DISCONTENTMENT- Worry. Distractions. Coveting. Complaints. They inflame a mother’s perspective and steal her joy. But I’ve discovered a cure….STILLNESS.

{insert my heart: Be still and know that He is God. THAT IS ENOUGH!}

True contentment means putting God in charge and embracing His plans for your life, even when they’re different from your own. Contentment is not gained. It is learned:

“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:12-13)

The more we talk and complain about a situation, the worse it looks, until the problem looms larger in our mind than our faith does. (Dr. Charles Stanley)

God will provide what is best, and this world is not all there is for us.

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes NOT on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. (2 Cor. 4:16-18)

{insert my heart: Y’all, this chapter revived my heart. It reminded me that my life has a purpose. And that purpose is God breathed. And that purpose is good enough. I’m not bringing in a significant income right now, but that’s ok. I’m pouring into my kids in a way that I’ve never been able to. THAT is more valuable than money. THAT is more valuable than a “mansion” or a trampoline park in our backyard. I don’t want to lose focus on that, because when I lose focus–I become discontent. I want to be content–and at peace–with my life right now. It’s the life God has chosen for me and my family, and it. is. a. blessing.}

Goodnight, friends!

 

Leave a Reply

