Worry much?

I’m just going to go ahead and tell you…..worrying is something I used to do every second of every day! Literally.

I worried about realistic things….unrealistic things……I worried about things that would probably never happen, but in my mind they had already happened. I worried myself sick and to the point of sleepless nights. It was absolutely exhausting.

But over the past several years, God has released me from a lot of my anxiety, fear, and worry. Through His Word, and only through His Word, I have come to love God more and fear the world less. Perfect love drives out fear, and His love is the only perfect love. So, let me share with you the next chapter in The Supermom Myth book, entitled “Worry Much?”

{excerpt: We moms sniff out danger at every turn, fiercely protecting our cubs from threats both real and imagined. Hey, it’s our job, right? God entrusted these children to our care, so by golly, we are determined not to mess it up.

Our enemy, Worry Woman, can choke the life from both parent and child faster than any other dirty villain we face. Worry inhibits our ability to enjoy our children, and it instills in our kids a sense of fear that hinders them from exploring beyond their parents’ emotional confines. Do you enjoy worrying? I sure hope not. Does it make you feel strong? More than likely it weakens your spirit. So why should we purposely impart this same debility to our children?

Equipping our children from the inside out: The best action we can take to protect our children is to teach them about God. So make it a priority to pray with your children . Explore Bible stories and memorize verses together. Point to God in everything you do and see. And teach your kids to protect their hearts from anything that would draw them away from God. “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” Proverbs 4:23

3 common areas in which many of us struggle to let go:

  1. Growing up–The natural progression to school and independence
  2. Decision making–Empowering our kids to make wise choices
  3. Allow Dad to be Dad–Relinquishing control to coparent

 

The less our kids lean on us, the more they’ll need to lean on God. And that is the ultimate goal of parenting. And how will our children learn to make wise choices if we constantly make their decisions for them? One day, each of our children will make the ultimate choice–whether or not to live for Jesus. Let’s start now, building our kids’ confidence in their own decision-making abilities so that someday, when they’re grown, Jesus will be THEIR choice and not just some habit they picked up from Mom and Dad. Proverbs 1:8-9 says “Listen, my son, to your father’s instruction and do not forsake your mother’s teaching. They are a garland to grace your head and a chain to adorn your neck.”  This tells me that fathers and mothers are in the game together. For kids with two caring and well-intentioned parents in their lives, the wisdom from each is valuable. When we moms try to control child-rearing decisions and squelch a husband’s input, we are effectively denying our children a blessing their father was designed to impart.

{my heart: I am guilty of all 3 areas of not wanting to let go. And probably 300 more. I want to thrive as a mom and I want my kids to strive for God, but some days I’m doing more harm than good. I see that now.

Something that God revealed to me a few years ago, as I was punishing myself for not being a perfect mom was this……If I was a “perfect mom” (or even close to perfect), then my kids would never have any reason to look to God for anything. We’re imperfect for a reason. Because in our imperfections, He is made known. Let that encourage you tonight.

Goodnight, friends!

 

 

Leave a Reply

