The GROUCH on the COUCH

If you don’t think God is real or personal or has a sense of humor…you’re SO wrong!

Let me give you a real-life scenario……

We had just gotten home and I was a little aggravated. My husband asked me what was wrong. I told him I didn’t know…..because I really didn’t. {the joys of being a woman} He asked a couple more times, and I felt pressured to provide an answer. So, I went with what I thought was the root of my “grouchiness”, and I told him that I was frustrated that the house was such a mess. His reply…”What’s a mess?” Um…..are you BLIND?!? The whole house is a disaster!!!! Not one room in this house is clean. But apparently I’m the only one who cares. AHHHHHHHH!!!!

So…..I went and sat on the couch. And sulked. He walked out of the room, and I thought….”maybe I’ll go read my book” {The Supermom Myth}

And wouldn’t you know….the title of Chapter 2 is: The Grouch on the Couch! Bahahahahahaha……ok, God…I get it! I’m a grouch. And I’m sulking on the couch. You have my full attention. Speak…

{excerpt: Dirty Villian No. 1: The Grouch on the Couch. Proverbs 29:11 tells us, “Fools give full vent to their rage, but the wise bring calm in the end.” And James 1:19-20 says, “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.”}

Wow. Conviction already.

{excerpt as follows:

I’ve discovered–the hard way–six tricks to conquering the Grouch….

#1- Acknowledge the Grouch. The first step to conquering the Grouch is acknowledging her presence in the room. Recognize that your frustration is an object you can identify and control; it does NOT have to control you. Likewise, ignoring the Grouch, stuffing her down, or pretending she doesn’t exist can ultimately harm us and everybody around us. We become like pressure cookers, building steam until our tops blow and splatter droplets of frustration all over the people we love best.

#2- Know who your real enemy is–It’s NOT your kids. “God is love” (1 John 4:8), therefore Satan is thrilled when we act UNlovingly. One of the most effective tricks I’ve found for fighting the Grouch is this simple sentence–that unfailingly whips my perspective back into shape: I WILL NOT LET SATAN GET MY FAMILY!

{my heart/my personal dialogue:

When my children try to aggravate each other in every.possible.way….

I WILL NOT LET SATAN GET MY FAMILY!

When my daughter throws a diva-sized tantrum and needs my emotional presence, not my impatience….

I WILL NOT LET SATAN GET MY FAMILY!

When the house is a mess, and I’m the only one who seems to care…

I WILL NOT LET SATAN GET MY FAMILY!

{excerpt as follows:

#3- Discern Age-Appropriate Behavior. Our kids aren’t puppets; they’re people. They’re born with the same sin nature as ours and the same free will to make their own decisions. We all know how well that works for us sometimes. Can we really expect more from our kids than we do from ourselves? {insert my heart: wow. profound!}

We can’t control their hearts. We can only control our response.

Let’s follow God’s lead. He knows our limitations and our faults, yet He is kind to us. Can we do the same for our kids?

#4- The Quick-Switch Trick. Whenever we’re tempted to snap, immediately replace the angry thought with scripture. If only we woman could get our hands on a preventative drug for freaking out. We can. It’s called scripture. “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.” (Psalm 119:11) 

#5- Put a Little Love in Your Voice. Oh, how many disasters could be averted in our homes if we’d just put a little love in in our voice. Haven’t we moms figured out by now that impatience is counterproductive? When I bark at my kids, they tune me out at best. Sometimes they strike back. Worst, on rare but awful occasions, they cry. Then I’m left wishing for a do-over. Do you ever wonder if you’d act differently with Jesus in the room? Hey, I’d spiff up my behavior if the MAILMAN stopped by. Imagine how far I’d go to tame my tongue for the Lord??!??! But that’s the kicker….God IS in the room! His eyes are in our kitchens when we’re mopping spilled juice. He’s in our hallways when we’re wrestling kids to get ready. He travels in our vehicles when the kids bicker over who knows what?! Thankfully, the Lord is full of grace. {insert my heart: Thank you, Jesus, for your grace and unconditional love}

#6- Learn to Apologize. The key is to be aware of how our words, actions, and attitudes are stacking up–even in the midst of constant external pressures–and to make deliberate efforts to pile on more patience than pestering, more smiles than spewing, more softness than snits, and more hugs than hollers. When we apologize to our kids and ask for forgiveness, we show humility and invite grace into our homes. As moms, we need to take the necessity of forgiveness one step further and realize what it says to our children. When we apologize and ask our kids for forgiveness, it teaches them that we are not perfect, and we don’t expect them to be. Genuine apologies create an atmosphere of mutual grace, where kids and parents alike can feel free to make mistakes without condemnation. And that, my fellow moms, paints the very picture of Jesus for our children.

{insert my heart: God never ceases to amaze me. He always meets me right where I am. Tonight it was on the couch. In the midst of my frustration. He used this book to remind me that as a child of God, I’m called to rise above the Grouch that so frequently comes out. I’m super excited about using these 6 “tricks” and His Word to rise above what has become the norm for me and become the mom He’s called me to be. I was created in His image and I want to bear it proudly!

Goodnight, friends!

 

Leave a Reply

