The Supermom MYTH….

So, as my mind’s been spinning the past couple of weeks with ideas of….Who am I? What’s my purpose? Am I doing enough? Am I doing anything right? What more do I need to do? etc….

I came across this book….

img_5193

And when I opened the front cover, I realized that I needed to read this book. ASAP!

img_5224

Because when it comes to my “Identity cRiSiS”….trying to be a SUPERMOM gets the best of me every.single.day.

So, that’s where this journey begins….and I hope you’ll join me. I will share excerpts from this book, and then I’ll share some things from my heart. One of my favorite quotes so far (from Chapter 1) is….”Honesty is a ministry.” So, that’s what I plan on doing–just like I have from day 1 of this blog. I want to share #reallife and #reallifeprobs with you. You are not alone. And neither am I!

Chapter 1–“Who are these little people, and how do I send them back?”

Before you had kids, did you have all these dreams about how perfect and adorable it was going to be? The baby showers were so fun, and all the baby items were precious! Feeling the baby move was amazing…..and then the baby came. Along with….sleepless nights, raging hormones, sporadic showers, lonely days, and “What the heck do I do with this thing” thoughts! Your husband heads back to work after several days….back to a normal life. Where adults are. And hour lunch breaks– with no baby to swaddle or nurse.  NO FAIR!!!!!

{excerpt: Children are demanding; moms are selfish. Children generate messes; moms hate to clean. Children get sick; moms fear that the germs will spread. Children hamper our social lives, sex lives, work lives, and our innermost can-I-just-have-a-minute-to-live-inside-my-own-head-please thoughts!!!! Because, let’s get real….most days we don’t have any original thoughts left in our brains after a day spent wiping green beans off the floor and singing the Doc McStuffins theme song over and over and over again.}

{excerpt: But like so many of us, I persevered with God’s help. I dug into the Bible for answers to my crankiness, my loneliness, my fatigue, and my fears. I prayed desperately for wisdom and guidance. I pocketed verses that fueled me through long and lonely hours. And as my husband and I celebrated first smiles, first steps, first words, and first birthday candles, we found ourselves living a new rhythm–one in which God’s grace sets the tempo. Oh, how we need Him every.single.day.}

{excerpt: Underneath the chaos and frustrations of family life, we moms cherish our children to the core of our souls. Why is it so hard to show it sometimes? We get cranky, anxious, and overwhelmed. We’re too busy, too tired, too ambitious, too distracted. We snap. We nag. We resent and regret, and on bad days we grant our children more pain than peace. How can we prevent those bad days from beating us down??}

{my heart: I’m pretty certain that this lady has hidden cameras in my house and has written this book about me!!!}

{excerpt: So, how can we prevent bad days from beating us down??…First, identity your villains. Then, with God’s strength, rise and conquer!}

Villains:

  • anger
  • worry
  • comparison
  • busyness
  • unhealthy approaches to housework
  • exhaustion
  • husband-neglect
  • self-neglect

 

Are you as excited as I am to move on to the next chapter?!?! I’ve purposely waited until I wrote this blog before I moved on. I want to give you a chance to go grab this book and read it with me! Put it on your to-do list tomorrow and check back in each day (or every-other-day) and let’s recap it together. BUT…..if you don’t get the book, please still tune in. You’ll be blessed by the excerpts I share and other things that God lays on my heart to share.

“I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the HOPE to which He has called you, the riches of His glorious inheritance in His holy people, and His incomparably great POWER for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength He exerted when He raised Christ from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly realms.” Ephesians 1:18-20

The same power that rose Jesus from the grave is the same power that’s living inside you. and me. IF WE BELIEVE! Claim it, sisters!

Goodnight, friends!

 

 

One thought on “The Supermom MYTH….

Leave a Reply

