Home is where the heart is

I’ve spent this amazing Saturday at home.

My in-laws came over. We got some things done around the house. We sat on the couch and talked. We cooked. And ate. A lot. And in the midst of family time, I looked around at our new house and thought….

I love this house.

For those of you who don’t know….we just “down-sized.” Our new house isn’t as nice, or as new. But it is home.

It’s not about the perfectly painted walls, or the extravagant light fixtures. It’s about the people that I get to live in this house with. It’s about Parker riding his scooter through the house at 90 mph. It’s about the printer sitting on the dining room table, because we don’t have an “office.” It’s about the nasty floors in the foyer because the hubs just pressure washed the front porch. It’s about dirty floors, and creaky doors, and much much more. It’s the imperfections that make this house so perfect.

Over the past year, I’ve helped people as an “interior designer.” Not because I went to school for that, but because I have a passion for helping people make their house a “home.” I love nice things and flashy blings….but most of all-I LOVE giving people permission to flaunt the imperfections of their home. Your kids love to draw? Frame their artwork and hang it on the wall. You have one of your great grandmother’s quilts? Use it as your master bedroom bedspread and center everything else around it. Your mom handed down her old piano but it doesn’t match anything in your house? WHO CARES! Use it and share the story behind it. Let me share a quick story…

Abby wanted to take our (80 year old widowed) neighbor a cupcake this afternoon. She invited us in, and while we were there she shared stories with us. Each piece of furniture in her home has a story. It’s not brand new, or top of the line. But it’s sentimental. It has meaning. She didn’t tell us how much each piece of furniture cost. She told us how much each piece of furniture meant! That’s the kind of home I want to have. I want to give my family permission to make memories in our home. I want to flaunt our imperfections. I want everyone who comes in our home to feel invited and comfortable.

I have a sign that hangs on our door that says “Welcome to our Home. We don’t do fancy or fussy…But we sure are fun and friendly.” It makes me laugh every time I see it, because honestly–my kids are extremely fussy! But the rest is true.

Don’t expect for our home to always be clean or perfect…..but expect for our door to always be open!

Enjoy your home. Don’t be so quick to replace your furniture because of the wear and tear….reminisce about where the wear and tear came from. Each stain and hole has a story. Share it with others. It’s what makes your house a home. (ordinary is extraordinary!)

Goodnight, friends!

Leave a Reply

