I went to jail tonight

Yes, I went to jail tonight.

But it was voluntary.

I got involved with a prison ministry about a year ago. My mom has done it for a few years, and I joined her last fall.

It is the most amazing ministry that I have ever been a part of. Mainly because–I view those girls as friends. I look forward to going….and I am probably more blessed by it than they are.

So, tonight I did the “devotion.” The girls know that whatever topic I choose to speak to them about is a topic that I am struggling with myself. I am real with them. I am no better than them. I love them.

Tonight we talked about prayer. Something that I am currently struggling with. We talked about who God is to us. What is our view of Him? I told them that I’ve always struggled with my view of my Heavenly Father because of my earthly father. Does God really love me no matter what? Does He think I’m good enough? Does He want me around? Yes. He does. But it’s one of satan’s biggest footholds in my life.

The girls opened up. We talked…..laughed….prayed…cried. And then this happened….One of the {new} girls that I had never met before said to me…..”Your excitement for God is like a kid in a candy shop.”

Wow. I wanted to pat myself on the back. “Good job, Tonya. You’re a super duper Christian!” But no, I’m not. I’m just living through these #reallife struggles, and I’m sharing them with others. Some days I get it right. Some days I fall flat on my face. But through it all, God remains constant. Constantly in love with me. Constantly pursuing me. Constantly revealing Himself. And THAT excites me.

Goodnight friends!

 

Leave a Reply

